My Blessings

I have been down for a few months because I just couldn’t find God’s purpose for me.  It weighted heavily on my heart.

Last year, I think April or May (2016), I opened the door to find my mailman with a large box.  I knew I wasn’t expecting anything but the box was addressed to me.  When I opened the box there were yards of uncut fabric.  I put the box aside thinking there is no way!  The next day the mailman at the door again with a box.   I’m thinking “Oh NO!”  Sure enough the box was filled with different kinds of uncut fabric.  A pattern for another Log Cabin was inside.  I asked God, what are you trying to teach me because maybe He didn’t remember my constant ability to mess up the bobbin’s in sewing machines.

You are wondering, why is this so amazing – WELL – if you had me close to your sewing machine you would see why within five minutes.   Every machine I was near, I messed up the bobbin terribly.  I paid to be taught to sew, along with my daughters, within about an hour, I had four machine bobbins messed up and the teacher asked me to not touch another machine.  At the end of the class she said she would teach my girls but she didn’t feel that I could be taught.

BUT right now in front of me was a Log Cabin pattern and yards of fabric.  A week earlier I had been told about a knitting group at our local library.   I went, was very quiet, but listened intently.   I had heard one lady talk about her quilts and loving to quilt.  After the meeting I asked her if she would teach me to quilt.  She was giddy and answered YES!

The next meeting she brought her sewing machine, cutting boards, rulers, papers, fabric in case of needing it (to say the least she was prepared).  I looked at her and said but I don’t sew.   She told me I do now and to sit.  I giggled to myself but I obeyed and sat down.  I did mess up her machine within minutes but I had to fix them myself as she told me what to do.

Ever since that day, I have been sewing, quilting, making so many things.   I will be sharing them with you.  Let me know what you think.

Remember, I am NOT a seasoned quilter but a beginner.  I know there are mistakes but every mistake you make a lesson is learned!

Leave a Reply

